The blog

Ask a vegetarian!

  • By Khalil Balan
  • 0 comments

Ask a vegetarian!

1. What is the difference between vegetarian and vegan?

A meal or product is considered vegetarian if it contains no meat or fish. A meal or product is vegan if it contains no animal-based products at all:  so besides no meat or fish it also excludes any dairy products (milk, butter, cheese, cream, yoghurt, milk powder, whey…) and eggs.

Also, clothing made using animal skins (fur, leather, wool, silk) is not considered vegan.

2. Is fish considered vegetarian?

Fish is not considered vegetarian. A “vegetarian” diet is one without meat, fish, shellfish and insects, or food that does contain any of these ingredients.

3. Is it healthy to eat vegetarian every day?

A well balanced vegetarian meal can easily contain all the necessary nutrients, even for children. Studies increasingly show that eating vegetarian is more healthy than the traditional eating habits that most of us have grown up with. Research over the last twenty years has clearly demonstrated the benefits of vegetarian food both in helping to avoid illness and as an aid in treatment. Vegetarians are also at less risk of suffering from gallstones and constipation. Many prosperity diseases are connected to the typical western eating habits, too many animal products and not enough fruit and vegetables.

4. Will I get enough protein from a plant-based diet?

It is not difficult to get protein from plant-based products. Most people with traditional eating habits consume too much protein. Even as a vegetarian it is difficult to eat too little protein. Protein is widely present in all kinds of cereals, pulses and meat replacements.

5. Won’t there suddenly be a huge surplus of animals if we all turn vegetarian?

The only reason that there are currently 18 billion farm animals wandering the planet is that they are bred on a massive scale for use as human food. If the demand for meat drops, then so will the supply (the number of animals bred).

Newer Post